Cancer, Cancer, Cancer

I’m so tired of dealing with cancer.  Three years ago, I had never had first hand experience with it.  Since then, it’s completely changed my life.  In that period of time, my mom has had cancer (and is now cancer free!).  I’ve had cancer (and very thankfully am cancer free as well).  I’ve lost a dog to cancer.  I lost an uncle-in-law to a very ugly cancer and series of surgeries to try to stop it.  And just the other day, we found a lump on Sol the dog’s face.  Ug.  The vet removed it, and we’ve since found out that it’s not cancer, but a Mast Cell Tumor.  At least they took it out and we shouldn’t have anything to worry about.  Thank Dog.

I guess the point I’m trying to make is that life is precious and fragile.  It doesn’t take much to cause your health, or the health of a loved one to turn around in a heartbeat.  Enjoy it while you can.  We are but mere lumps of flesh and bone, controlled by the most complex chemical, electrical, and mechanical systems in known existence.  Somewhat akin to a computer, our precisely functioning mechanism can be disrupted at any time in any multitude of ways.  Unfortunately, there is no human equivalent to CTRL+ALT+DEL.

~ by spacemanalpha on August 4, 2009.

One Response to “Cancer, Cancer, Cancer”

  1. jeepers!

Leave a Reply

 
